THE ONLY THING I ASK IS THAT WE BURN BRAS

Hi! In new ILL fashion, this week’s newsletter was guest-written by Great. Have I replied Great’s texts in the past month? Looking for the link to this reminded me that I have not.

This week, I said I’d get my life in order. Is it in order? We’re getting there.

REGULARLY SCHEDULED PROGRAMMING

I just watched Barbie, and I can’t wrap my head around how she literally chose here (the real world) over Barbie Dreamland.

Hi, my name is Great, I hacked Ink Love And Life, and I'll be leaving a hacker’s love letter today.

You’re welcome. (I’m writing this and listening to What Was I Made for? So it might get dark.)

I want to disappear. Literally.

I’m not sure when it started, but for a while now, I’ve been craving distance. I guess, in a way, I understand Barbie now. The chance to move to a place where I know no one and no one knows me. No one expects anything of me; no one has an impression of me; no one likes a “thing” about me; and no one cares.

I’d say I crave solitude, but it’s mostly seclusion from everyone I know and love.

I want to be left alone. I’d like it if I were excluded from the regular programming of life. I’d like Barbie Land.

And more than anything, I want everyone to shut up and say only what I want to hear—nothing.

All these and more, I want, but just for 6 months.

(Can you tell I still stay with my parents?)

ON LIFE.

No one has life figured out, yet everyone has a thing or two to say about how to live for the next person. I heard a quote recently; “Be nice to your mom. She’s only ever lived once.”

And I think it’s sad that the mothers of our generation had to give up their lives for us. Good or not. Your mom is a woman stuck in the ideals of the ‘'60s-'90s, and if she was born even earlier, then all she’s known/ was taught was how to be a woman, not a human (too much Barbie).

I’m a fresh graduate, hoping that NYSC will choose a path (hopefully good) for me because I don’t like to think too much. Adulthood is too much about thinking. What do I eat today? Should I say yes? Can I be honest? Is it safe? Is it wise? Is it good? Is it true? Is it false? Should I do my masters?

Can I get a job? Can I sleep? Can I drop dead from thinking too much because all these decisions don dey choke lowkey?

I’m confused and not confused at the same time. I’m battling (barely fighting) procrastination, and I have come to the scary realization that I’m Great.

Personally, I just need a black credit card and a trip to all my favorite stores (add two shawarmas and some fries with a burger, please).

ON BOOKS

One of my favorite personal mantras is, “If you’re going through hell something, at least look good doing it.”

Kity in “How to Kill Men and Get Away With It” by Katy Brent understood the assignment very well.

ON MUSIC

I’m a “listen to music according to the vibe” kind of girl, so I’ll put you on to my feel-good playlists.

There are a ton of killer playlists that I’ve created that you might love, so check them out.

LEMONADE

I’m ready to explode with creativity. I’m done overthinking (big lie) at this point. We have three months left until the end of the year, and I plan to work my butt off to make the most of it my best days ever.

Moving forward, every day is a great day. If it wasn’t that great, then it’s a good day.

I have Substack.

Happy I hacked🫶🏾

With all the love I will not give men,

Great💜